Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Linking of two FPGA

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I'm a student of Engineering of Telecommunications.In my thesys I must realize a digital circuit on FPGA,but I can't make it all on the same FPGA board,because of occupation of resources.So I must realize some blocks of this circuit(such as a FIR filter) on a second FPGA board. 

Someone can tell me how could I connect a single block of the first FPGA with a block of the second one? 

Thanks in Advances.
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Technically, you can connect FPGA's anyway you want. SPI, I2C, PCI, PCI Express, LVDS, DDR, etc. (I know I'm confusing protocol standards with IO standards and what not...) My guess is you're not designing the board, and the decision is probably already decided for you, at least at the physical layer. What type of physical connections are there between the boards? Once you have that, you need to decide how they interact? Do they need to send data back and forth within a clock cycle, or is it purely a data dump from one side to the other? Do you need any sort of error correction/protection, in case the wires get noisy? 

My guess is it will be as simple as possible, whereby you connect as many wires as you physically can, depending on how much data you'll be sending, and then just send one bit of data per clock, assuming the clock speed is slow enough and there is a relationship between the clocks on the two FPGAs.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II