Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

How do access the converted MAX 10 ADC results?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm really new to the whole FPGA world and try to evaluate the MAX10 ADC as part of my thesis, but whatever I do I can't get it to work as I think it should. 

What I'm trying to do is, that I've got the MAX 10 FPGA Development board with the 10M50 and I want to read the Analog-in from Chanel 6 from ADC1 where a potentiometer is connected and in respect to the converted value I want to change the duty cycle of a PWM which controls one of the on board User LEDs. 

So far I've found a lot tutorials about the ADC but none where the converted values are processed and used further on. Most of the tutorials I saw just show the ADC to JTAG bridge, what doesn't help me at all. 

So basically to sum things up my main problem is that I don't know how to get and use the converted results. 

I would be really glad for any help, even a link or just anything would help. I'm kinda losing my mind over this. 

Thanks in advance. 

% --[ edit ] --- 

So just to clarify, what do I know. 

The MAX10 10M50 comes with a dual ADC with each 8 + 1 TSD input, with a 64 channel sequencer. 

It works like a regular 12bit SAR ADC with 1 MSPS for each ADC-"Core". 

For example a regular cycle would start that the inputs get sampled in order to the defined sequence and converted and at last stored in the sample storage or avalon ram. 

I know I need a PLL and what a PLL is to create the 10Mhz ADC input Clock. 

What don't know is how to access the sample storage or avalon ram to get to the converted results.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Have you checked out these online trainings: 

https://www.altera.com/support/training/catalog.html?coursetype=online&language=english&keywords=adc