Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20641 Discussions

Looking for FPGAs with processor

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi people!! 

I am a final year student and I am currently doing a research for my professor, which is to compare a selection Fpgas that include a processor manufactured by all available vendors if possible. With that, I would like know whether such FPGAs is available on market ? If yes, where can I get the respective product information/data sheet? Or can anyone recommend me which FPGA is better than the other? 

A quick response would be highly appreciated. Thank you.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

by mi known, Altera only Supports softcore processors in ther new devices. 

the exalibur (or something like that) used to have an embed processor, but altera has switched to first nios ans then to NiosII softcores. 

pros for a softcore :  

- very customizeble 

- cheap 

- good performance 

- large suport over the net 

- free ide, with gcc compiler 

- easy to learn 

- debugging c code over jtag 

contras: 

- thakes long time(15 to 1h) to compile the "hardware" ( full blown niosII system) 

Look at the NiosII website. 

http://www.altera.com/products/ip/processors/nios2/ni2-index.html 

to have an idee how it looks take a look at one of the dev kits  

http://www.altera.com/products/devkits/altera/kit-nios-2c35.html
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

the exalibur (or something like that) used to have an embed processor 

--- Quote End ---  

That was Excalibur ARM around 2001. That device family had dedicated silicon for an ARM processor and some peripherals combined with FPGA fabric using the APEX architecture. 

--- Quote Start ---  

contras: 

- thakes long time(15 to 1h) to compile the "hardware" ( full blown niosII system) 

--- Quote End ---