Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Clock skews, enables and timing

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Can someone help me? 

I am new to this and have been learning from scratch to program FPGAS and windows at the same time whilst building hardware. 

I have written some code for a data capture system which works mostly but has timing errors. 

When I look at the compile window it gives me errors such as gated clocks causing skew plus timing for slow model unable to be met plus clock signal reg bit 0 used as biffer plus a few others. 

I am not sure how to go about sourcing the problems and fixing and its taken me every minute I have for 4 months to get where I have got. 

Im on a tight time scale as I want to use this project on holiday in a couple of months and have a lot to do. This is the only bit Im utterly stuck on. 

Someone mentioned on here that I need to use chip enable clocks to sort out the gated clock issue but I do not know how to do this? 

could someone give me some pointers in verilog? Also if I post the errors could we explain what they mean? 

As I said the program works it just shifts the data back and forward in timing instead of capturing it all at the same time as I would expect. 

Its not a very big program so cant be much wrong allthough it is messy for a first verilog programming attempt. 

Yours hopefully 

Robin Burrows
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Can someone help me? 

Someone mentioned on here that I need to use chip enable clocks to sort out the gated clock issue but I do not know how to do this? 

--- Quote End ---