Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16559 Discussions

Timing violations - TimeQuest vs. Compile results ?????

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am pretty new to working with TimeQuest and working out timing violation in a design. In our current design we seem to be having some timing issues so I started looking at the TimeQuest analyser.  

POssibly the biggest issue I see so far is that we have a 100MHz system clock who FMAX is well below 50MHz !  

First I constrained all my clocks and then I started to work on the Setup violations in TimeQuest. I added many MultiCycle End Setup constraints and the parallel end Hold constraints, and the setup violations started to be reduced significantly. However each time I did a compile the FMAX seemed to go down (and not up as I expected) and also the setup violations were no where near the improvement as reported in TimeQuest. Between compiles (where additional multicycle constraints were added) there seems to be an improvement in the setup violations with each compile but not always ? 

Can anyone please give me some help on this issue ???
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are these valid multicycle setup constraints? Or are you just using them to fix timing? You can only use multicycle constraints when you know a signal will be set for longer than a single clock period. eg. you have a system with a periodic clock enables - you can put multicycle constraints on all of the registers that use the enable (but not the enable signal itself). 

Timing problems are primarily a problem with your design, not your timing specs. Have you thought about increasing pipelining in the design? Setup violations occur when registers have too much logic between them.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you for your quick reply