Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

Big numbers of input, output ??

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello everyone, I am a newbie. After trying in 2 days,  

I can't do a thing to solve the following problem. 

My mp3 player design requires to transfer 576 integer number ( 576x32 bit ) 

among modules, but the Cyclone II EP2C70 on DE2 board only allows 622 I/O pins. Therefore, that is a compile error. How can I solve this problem ??? 

Is it possible to implement an shared memory to contain those 576 integer number 

so that other modules can read and write on that. If it is, please explain it in detail 

because I am quite new to FPGA design. 

Thank you very much. 

btw, I am using verilog HDL.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It's very unclear from your post, what you are trying to achieve. Data "transfered between modules" would imply internal signals but no I/O pins at all, either if they use register cells, embedded memory or virtual signals (wires) only.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

It's very unclear from your post, what you are trying to achieve. Data "transfered between modules" would imply internal signals but no I/O pins at all, either if they use register cells, embedded memory or virtual signals (wires) only. 

--- Quote End ---  

I am sorry about that, I have little knowledge about using Quartus II and FPGA design. 

Embedded memory could be the best suitable for my project, but would you please explain 

the others ( register cells and wires) as long as they imply no I/O pins. Thanks. 

PS: I don't know how to make them imply no I/O pins.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II