Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Newbie Help Request CPLD MAXII

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all. 

I want to build a digital clock, with several 7 segments displays (HH:mm:ss). How can i make the 1s clock to drive my 4bits counters? 

My board has a 50Mhz clock. How can i make 1s precisely? 

- Frequency dividers? 

- Counters? 

I'm programing in Block Diagram File. 

What is the best language? VHDL, Verilog, BDF? As i am new in this, it would be very good to start with the best language. 

Regards 

Mrmike
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Well don't start by asking what the best language is (because everybody knows it's Verilog). No really you may start a battle. If you want your skills to be broadly useful than chosse Verilog or VHDL. 

Well now ... 50MHz = 50,000,000 clocks per second. So technically all you have to do is write a counter that counts to 50,000,000 and that equals one second. In reality however, the accuracy of this calculation depends entirely on the accuracy of the crystal producing the 50MHz clock. Crystals come with specified tolerances. When someone designs a product that requires extremely accurate timing, they choose a low frequency crystal with a tight tolerance. So in reality you'd like to have a crystal in the low kHz range with an extremely tight tolerance. 

Jake
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Anyway, you could write your own divider by 50,000,000 as an exercise. Try to write it in Verilog to start with an HDL language. The frequency accuracy in ppm will be the same as the one guaranteed by your crystal oscillator. 

You can use the Quartus II templates to start learning. 

Once you have created your .v file go to 

Edit>Insert Template and browse the available templates. 

Cheers 

OD
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for your reply, 

I've already typed my first verilog program :)