Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Cyclone II : Configuration through Embedded JTAG

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear All,  

i am new to the FPGA world.  

I am using FPGA for signal processing. i have the *.rbf file.  

i want to load this file into FPGA SRAM.this the following step i m performing: 

1. i am loading the *.rbf file (un compresed version) into flash memory.  

2. reading one bye and wrting it to FPGA through JTAG interface between microcontroller and FPGA. microcontroller is genrating clock. 

3. i have implemented JTAG state machine on microcontroller. 

my configuration is as follows: 

MSEL1 =GND 

MSEL0 = HIGH 

CONF_DONE = HIGH (VDD 3.3 Volt) 

I am able to read ID code after giving instruction ID_CODE as 0x20B30DD. 

I also get the configuration sucessful indiction (as given in JRunner software) 

After Reset i am giving config instruction, then switching to user mode.  

But LED connected to FPGA is not working at all. 

BUT i am able to read DEVICE_ID again. 

I am not able to figure out what is going wrong.  

I want to know is there any thing that i should take care for *.rbf file. 

need help. 

Thanks. 

Regards, 

vidya
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are you using a custom board or an Altera evaluation board?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

no it is a custom board not altera board.  

harware component is fine because when in AS mode (MSEL1=MSEL0=GND) 

all the LED works fine.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I can't determine from the information you gave, if you are processing the *.rbf file correctly and using the right JTAG commands. Do you follow any Altera documented method? Most embedded systems I know, that are configuring the FPGA from a microcontroller or logic device are using PS or PP.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am using JRunner source code as refrence.