Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Enabling Avalon MM Transfers with Flow Control

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to FPGA development so be gentle. 

I have a question about how to enable flow control transfers between Avalon MM components. 

The following passages from the Quartus II 8.0 Handbook seem to imply that one ought be able to connect two Avalon MM flow control capable components such as a SPI controller and a DMA, and have the DMA automatically transfer incoming data from the SPI interface at its supported data rate. 

In Chapter 7. spi core of the Quartus II Handbook (NII51011-8.0.0) the following passage appears: 

the core’s avalon-mm interface is capable of avalon-mm transfers with flow control. the spi core can be used in conjunction with a dma controller with flow control to automate continuous data transfers between, for example, the spi core and memory. 

In Chapter 22. dma controller core of the Quartus II Handbook (NII51006-8.0.0) the following passage appears: 

the dma controller transfers data as efficiently as possible, reading and writing data at the maximum pace allowed by the source or destination. the dma controller is capable of performing avalon transfers with flow control, enabling it to automatically transfer data to or from a slow peripheral with flow control (for example, a universal asynchronous receiver/transmitter [uart]), at the maximum pace allowed by the peripheral.