Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

Ethernet question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to Ethernet interface and I have a few questions regarding my next project. 

My requirements are to send data over ethernet from custom FPGA board to a PC over dedicated link. The throughput requirements are roughly 800Mbits/s. I need to receive commands other this link as well, but @ much lower rates. 

I'm planning to use external 88E1111 RGMII module and TSE MAC on the FPGA side. From what I've researched so far, I need to implement a transport stack (either TCP or UDP). Also, from what I've read, SOPC approach with NIOS will yield ~110 Mbits/s at best. Is there any reference design on how to implement TCP/UDP in hardware? Will implementing these protocols in hardware provide me with desired throughput? 

thanks in advance
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You are really pushing the limit of Gigabit ethernet. By the time you take into account the overhead of the MAC and TCP and IP protocols and the time you're going to spend processing, you're not going to be able to get the full 800Mb/s. I'd really be surprised if your PC could keep up with this anyway. It has all the same issues. The stack is implemented in software on the PC. 

Jake
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Are you open to other transport methods? Most people are going PCI Express these days. Can your data be easily compressed? 

Jake
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Actually 800Mbits/s is our upper limit. We might be able to get away with 500Mbits/s, but from the sounds of it, this might also be a challenge. 

What would you say is a feasible upper limit on for this type of interface? 

PCIe is an option we're considering, but we'd like to run this board stand alone.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II