Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers

VHDL timing

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I am new to VHDL so I suppose that my question is pretty basic:  

Suppose I have a simple buffer with input, output and enable. The input is connected to the output if enable = '1'. When enable = '0', the output is high Z.  

My question is: If I enable the buffer and set a value to the input in the same clock, when will I see the input value on the output? 

Thanks, 

Dvido
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Simple answer: instantly 

Complex answer: 

Your input and enable signals are both scheduled to change at the same moment in simulation time. The simulator will pause simulation time and then take one of those signals (say enable) and go through your code looking for all processes which have that "enable" in the sensitivity list. The simulator will find your buffer process and work out what the output should be with the new enable and old input value. 

The simulator then looks back to its transaction queue for this moment in simulation (we haven't advanced in time yet) and see also that the input signal change needs to be dealt with. The simulator then does the same again - finds all the processes with "input" in their sensitivity list including your buffer. It will then step through your buffer process and work out what the output should be based on the new enable and new input value. 

Because the buffer output has now changed (twice - but the first one will either be overwritten by the second or skipped) the simulator will look for any process with the buffer's output in the sensitivity list. 

And so on until there are no further signal changes for this moment in simulation time. The simulator will only then allow simulation time to continue to the next event that has been scheduled.