Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Newbie to Quartus II, Can't find ram.vhd refered to in Tutorial

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm a newbie to Quartus II. 

I've just downloaded and installed the Quartus II 8.0 sp1 Web Edition software which I'm running under Vista Ultimate on my notebook. I've been going through the tutorial and have gotten to Module 2:Create a Design, Step 1: Create a new Project in which it says at page 2 of the New Project Wizard  

"In the add files page, we browse to the default working directory to locate the ram.vhd file".  

I've searched both drives of my notebook and have been unable to locate this file, nor was there a default working directory C:\quartus\tutorial as shown in the tutorial.  

I've also downloaded theThe Quartus II Software Interactive Tutorial Zip file and have searched for ram.vhd on the Altera website but have not found the file in either. Can anyone help with the location of the file, or does it not come with the web edition of Quartus II maybe?  

I had previously run the "How to begin a simple FPGA design" tutorial and found that the simple_counter.v file was part of the CIII_Starter_Kit-v7.2.0 documentation which I had to download and install separately. Is it possible that the ram.vhd file is part of another starter kit? 

Oh and just in case anyone mentions it, I was not shouting by putting Add Files and ram.vhd in bold type. That's how it appears in the tutorial. 

Many thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

There is in your tutorial a step in that you must instatiate an altsyncram megafunction? or doe's the tutorial reference something like that?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi parrado and thanks for your reply