Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Error while simulating with ModelSim

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello guys 

I'm still a very beginner in Quartus II and FPGA programming in general. 

I'm still trying to run the simple example of hello world available in the quartus folder using the altera manual here www.altera.com/literature/an/an351.pdf (http://www.altera.com/literature/an/an351.pdf) and after making all the steps (making the design with SOPC builder, adding the file in the Quartus II) i'm trying to simulate with ModelSim (having the "hello world" signal after it has been converted from C language to VHDL). 

I have the following errors 

--- Quote Start ---  

# ** Error: (vcom-11) Could not find ./vhdl_libs/altera.altera_europa_support_lib.# ** Error: C:/SAMY/SOPC_Test/onchip_memory2_0.vhd(19): (vcom-1195) Cannot find expanded name: 'altera.altera_europa_support_lib'.# ** Error: C:/SAMY/SOPC_Test/onchip_memory2_0.vhd(19): Unknown record element "altera_europa_support_lib". 

--- Quote End ---  

Then  

--- Quote Start ---  

# ** Error: C:/SAMY/SOPC_Test/onchip_memory2_0.vhd(32): VHDL Compiler exiting# ** Error: C:/Applications/Modeltech/win32/vcom failed. 

--- Quote End ---  

But as i searched in several posts, i things the last two errors are very commun and may just mean that the simulation was aborted. 

Any Ideas?! 

It's kinda urgent. Big thanks for your help !
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You need to compile the altera_europa_support_lib.vhd file found in the  

altera\quartus\libraries\vhdl\altera  

sub-directory. 

Hope this helps
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes in fact, I found the lib files that were missing.