Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

SystemVerilog - module ports including interfaces with parameters

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Quartus 9.0 

I am new to SystemVerilog. I want to package certain common interfaces using 'interface'. For example: 

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // An interface for communication of parallel data with flow control where the source and destination share a clock // ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// interface IParallel# (parameter DataWidth = 1); ////////////// // The data // ////////////// logic Data; //////////////////////////////////////////////// // An indication that the source has new data // //////////////////////////////////////////////// logic ReadyFromSource; ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// // An indication that the destination is ready for new data // ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////// logic ReadyToSource; ///////////////////////////// // Forms of this interface // ///////////////////////////// modport Source (output Data, output ReadyFromSource, input ReadyToSource); modport Destination( input Data, input ReadyFromSource, output ReadyToSource); endinterface  

If I define a module and include this interface in its ports, I can use the default data width: 

module MyModule ( IParallel.Destination ParallelInterface );  

but, if I try to override that parameter: 

module MyModule ( IParallel# (.DataWidth(2)).Destination ParallelInterface );  

this gives  

--- Quote Start ---  

Error (10170): Verilog HDL syntax error...near text "#"; expecting ")", or "," 

--- Quote End ---  

What am I doing wrong?
0 Kudos
7 Replies