Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20693 Discussions

How to create a simple program that behave like a Nios IDE?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Good Morning 

I have NIOS development board and I created a simple NIOS setup with memory and JTAG UART & LED. I already purchased the NIOS license so I have unlimited test time. I also use the Nios II IDE to create a simple hello world and LED blinking function. I can use the IDE to run the program on the physical hardware. This all works.  

I want to write a simple program that behave like the IDE where it loads the program to the FPGA and direct the stdout to the JTAG_UART so I can read it back on my laptop. 

Can anyone point me to an example or app notes? I think I need to access the USB-blaster but how and what library is out there? 

Thank You for your help. 

Victor
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Victor, 

I have some experience in this area as of late. You will need to do these things: 

1. Build a SOPC project with an Avalon MM Tri-State bridge and a CFI (common flash interface) component. You will need this to store the NIOS program and to boot it up after hardware config. There is a tool for this in the NIOS IDE.  

2. Compile hardware and place in serial configuration device (if you have one on the board). If not, I have included an app note for using the PFL (parallel flash loader) to store your hardware bitstream and the NIOS program both in flash.