Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12606 Discussions

Help please. Setting a host name innichestack

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am develping an application based on the Simple Socket Server example and it works fine with a static IP address. I want to use DHCP in the final design, but have a problem in that the only connection to the software is via IP/socket. I have no other way of communicating the IP address to the 'outside world' (in the SSS example the IP address gets output over UART and you can then connect to this IP manually - but I won't have UART enabled and want to automate the connection) 

I'm new to NIOS and Nichestack (and DHCP) come to that. Is there a simple way that I can get the Nios II code to identify itself - perhaps by setting the host name - so that I can then interrogate the DNS server to retrieve the IP address from the 'client end' machine? 

Many thanks in advance for any assistance!
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

That's a very good question. One that I can't seem to find the answer for... Anyone else ever do this?? 

- Ura
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I've not done it yet, The pertinent code is found in "autoip.c". The function is at the bottom "dhc_hostname()". Here are the comments for the function: 

/* FUNCTION: dhc_hostname() * * Called from the DHCP client to get a valid hostname for this machine. This * is a default routine which returns a dummy name. The porting engineer is * expected to define GETHOSTNAME_ALREADY and replace this with a system * routine. * * Note - if MUST always return a string. * * PARAM1: none * * RETURNS: pointer to ascii hostname string */