Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

Avalon_bus_to_extenal_controller

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

As i am a newbie with sopc, i do not understand very well how to interface Altera peripheral (Avalon slave interface) with an external 16 bits microcontroller (the real master). I do not want to implement any nios inside the fpga.  

Do i have to create an 'inteface to user logic' with an Avalon master on one side (fpga), and an external 16 bus on the other side (microncontroller). 

How to generate the Avalon timing from the 16 bits bus timing? 

Is there somewhere an example?
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am puzzled. Why not "I do not want to implement any nios inside the fpga." but using "Avalon slave interface"? I don't know using a bus-on-chip without a CPU-on-chip to access the bus.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Well, the on board cpu is a 16 bit microcontroller. The idea is to make a bridge wich will transform the external cpu timing to an avalon compatible timing.  

Into the fpga will be only avalon slave functions (uart, dp_ram, state sequencer...). Our application do not need a 32 bit processor, but a deterministic timing. The FPGA will act as a peripheral (i.e. co-processing). 

Do somebody have made a similar bus (i only found large buses as AHB, EMIF) bridge? 

Best regards. 

Jacques Paris
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Although you know your product better than anyone here, wouldn't it be more cost effective to use a Nios instead of an external 16 bit microcontroller taking up board space and extra cost? You may find the 'e' core does what you need and small enough to justify the change.