Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Socket Programming without RTOS

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I am new to RTOS but I have done socket programming in Windows. I need to implement a socket application in NIOS. However I am a newbie to MicroC or, for that matter, any RTOS. Is there some way through which I can implement my C socket programs as such, in NIOS, without learning RTOS.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You have to use a LWIP implementation that doesn't use any OS. 

An so you cannot use api socket as in windows, but raw api.  

I'm tryng..good luck!!!!!!!!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Where is such LWIP implementation available? What do you mean by ram api....what all will be missing from the actual api?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can find all in the forum TESTED IP 

here the link: http://www.niosforum.com/forum/index.php?a...&f=16&t=949&st= (http://www.niosforum.com/forum/index.php?act=st&f=16&t=949&st=

you have to see for standalone system 

Documentation of raw API that i found is only rawapi.txt 

I'm studing it but i'm becoming crazy! 

Say me if you'll find something else about raw api for LWIP
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The LWIP stack without an RTOS is not sockets API compliant; it has its own API and the receive is likely interrupt-callback-based. Having an RTOS can actually make things easier once you're familiar. I found that the Micrium textbook that discusses the MicroC/OS features to be very good.