Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

eCOS, Cyclone I/II, and Sockets

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello All, 

I am a rank newbie to both the NIOS II, and eCOS; and I was hoping that I could get some advice/pointers on how to get an IP over RF (PHY) Modem/Router working on the NIOS II with eCOS. Essentially here are the basics of the project itself: 

(1) Have a PC transmit a video stream to another PC via TCP/IP over RF PHY (using the NIOS II board as a modem/router) 

(2) This will be done through an Ethernet interface connecting each PC to an RF MODEM HW 

(3) My target HW platform will consist of a CYCLONE II FPGA, with the NIOS II and a SMSC LAN91C111 Ethernet interface chip (I am now prototyping on CYCLONE I/NIOS II SDK Eval Board) 

Essentially my SW responsibilities are as follows: 

(1) Get the IP Packets from PC 

(2) Flatten the IP Packets and send them to the RF Modem’s input buffering 

(3) Get Data Buffer from the RF HW 

(4) Have the ability to change the Tx/Rx Channels of the RF HW via a telnet interface to the NIOS II (w/separate IP address for the board) 

(5) Do the same on the reverse link 

Questions: 

(1) Would eCOS be appropriate for this application? 

(2) Since I don’t know that much about eCOS how can I get it configured with my NIOS II HW and IDE 

(3) How can I get my SW to run automatically at bootup through eCOS? 

(4) Where can I find example SW demonstrating IP Sockets, IP Routing, and writing to an external memory?  

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

originally posted by vava+oct 28 2005, 10:21 am--><div class='quotetop'>quote (vava @ oct 28 2005, 10:21 am)</div> 

--- quote start ---