Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Device Driver problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hello Guys, 

I am new to Nios and uClinux 

I have written a simple device driver for a nios custom peripheral  

After configuring the peripheral ,through the driver, the peripheral writes result to on-chip memory ... but i am unable to read the new value of memory location from the application c code  

However , i get the correct (updated) value if i read the memory location in the driver itself 

If i write another application in c , just to read the particular memory location, and execute it after excuting the first application, the memory location shows the correct value 

So please suggest a way(s) to read the updated memory cotents in the same application  

Thanking in anticipation, 

Kunal
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

originally posted by kuni124d@Jun 29 2006, 12:53 PM 

hello guys, 

i am new to nios and uclinux 

i have written a simple device driver for a nios custom peripheral  

after configuring the peripheral ,through the driver, the peripheral writes result to on-chip memory  ... but i am unable to read the new value of memory location from the application c code   

however , i get the correct (updated) value if i read the memory location in the driver itself 

if i write another application in c , just to read the particular memory location, and execute it after excuting the first application, the memory location shows the correct value 

so please suggest a way(s) to read the updated memory cotents in the same application   

thanking in anticipation, 

kunal 

<div align='right'><{post_snapback}> (index.php?act=findpost&pid=16532) 

--- quote end ---  

--- Quote End ---