Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

SDRam Controller is there a better one ?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Maybe somebody has a recomendation for me ... 

I use the sdram controller that is part of the sopc builder. 

The external sdram is 2 chips each 16 bit wide. 

Inside the FPGA cycloneII there are several avalon masters. 

NiosII, 100MBit Ethernet MAC and some custom avalon masters. 

Currently i have a minimum of 7 avalon masters eqach accessing the sdram. 

now it is abvious that the sdram is the bottle neck. 

4 of the custom avalon masters needs to read or write 32bit from or to the sdram each 160 clocks. but the avalon switch fabric assert a waitrequest for a read of up to 60 clocks cycles. so 4 of these avalon masters could lead to an access problem. 

has anybody a recomendation of a different sdram controller ? 

out of my head i think i remember that the sdram controller that is part of the sopc builder was called "poor" and that there are better ones. 

The Avalon switch fabric i capable of setting some arbitrations.  

i gave my own sopc modules higher numbers (2) than the nios2 (1) or the ethernet mac.  

Any recomendations how to speed up the sdram access ? FClock ist 64MHz. And Quartus seems to have problems with incrementing fclk and fitting.  

Michael Schmitt
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Having some imilar issues, I did some tests on the SDRAM controller.  

Yes there are better controllers, but the bottleneck is most of the time the clock domain crossing : 

-> running the SDRAM controller on 160Mc (better usage of the memory bandwidth) and the processor on 50Mc gives a slower system due to clock synchronisation.