Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Building a SDRAM controller

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi.....im quite new to the Altera DE2 board, and i have a very fundamental question. Lets say I wanted to build hardware that does Y = (A+B)*C where A is my input and B and C are prestored values in the SDRAM. The final output Y also goes to the SDRAM.  

a)How do I build a SDRAM controller that I can integrate with my Verilog code (for the above function)? All the tutorials keep talking about using C or assembly to do the function which I dont want to do.  

b) How do I use the burst modes in these? 

Sorry if this seems trivial and thanks for the help in advance. :)  

-zaphod
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

originally posted by zaphod@Oct 18 2006, 12:15 PM 

hi.....im quite new to the altera de2 board, and i have a very fundamental question. lets say i wanted to build hardware that does y = (a+http://forum.niosforum.com/work2/style_emoticons/<#emo_dir#>/cool.gif *c where a is my input and b and c are prestored values in the sdram. the final output y also goes to the sdram.  

a)how do i build a sdram controller that i can integrate with my verilog code (for the above function)? all the tutorials keep talking about using c or assembly to do the function which i dont want to do. 

--- Quote End ---  

I don&#39;t think you want to build your own SDRAM controller. You want to write your own Avalon component (presumably a master) that does this. Or, you could just use C2H and let it do the job for you. 

--- Quote Start ---  

http://forum.niosforum.com/work2/style_emoticons/<#emo_dir#>/cool.gif how do i use the burst modes in these? 

--- Quote End ---