Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

The inconsistent results of the Timequest

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear all, 

I'm a newbie with Timequest. Currently I'm working with Cyclone III development kit. When I was compiling my system something strange happened. That is every time when I run 'Start Compilation', Timequest will give me two critical warning shown in the attachment picture. But when I'm trying to find the detailed problems by opening a stand alone Timequest and running it, there is no critical warning at all. I've checked the .SDC files in the Timequest setting table and the project file table, they are consistent. And I've compiled times, the same problem always was there. By the way, the design is working on the hardware. 

Sorry for my awkard english. Hope my description is clear enough. I'd like to thank anyone who can help me. 

Best regards, 

Dayu
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The standalone TQ uses the slow timing model by default. Your warning during compilation, using multicorner analysis, are at the fast models.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

vjAlter nailed the issue. When you double-click on Create Timing Netlist in the Task bar, it automatically creates a model in the Slow Corner, since this is what users want 98% of the time. You can go to the Netlist Pull-down menu and go to Create Timing Netlist, where a pop-up appears allowing you to choose a different timing model. Or, if you had already created a timing netlist in the slow model, you can go to Netlist -> Set Operating Conditions and change it there. If you've created some timing reports, you can right-click and re-generate them.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II