Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

SOPC: Adding component

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi. I am new in SOPC.  

Background: 

i am trying to compare the speed of encryption and decryption of text string designed by software and hardware. 

There are a few questions i would like to ask: 

1. How to configure the signal type in adding a new component? is there any good reference i can refer to about the signal types? Although I downloaded the qts_qii5v4.pdf, there is no info abt the signal types. 

2. Do i need the write .h(encryption and decryption written in verilog) file to include in NIOS II IDE? 

3. How can I control the data(entered by user) to be feed in to software or hardware? 

4. Is there any good and simple example on control the added hardware(s)? 

5. i use the Quartus II 9.0sp2. When i install the nios II ide 9.0 service pack 2, i get the message that version of Quartus II does not match the version of nios II ide. any idea on it? May i know any consequences if i ignore the message?  

I am sorry if i ask silly question. 

Thanks a lot
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am a newbie too, but I am wondering what you want to do: 

*compare software (thus with a Nios processor) encryption/decryption with a full hardware system written in verilog  

OR 

*compare software with software+C2H (hardware acceleration) which is an automatic verilog file generated from some C code functions. 

By the way, SOPC allows you to build a system on chip, by adding a Nios processor, some memory, etc.  

If you want to write your own hardware blocs, Quartus provides you the right environment. You can mix the two by creating a part of your system with SOPC and the rest in Quartus by adding some custom verilog written blocks.