Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

Benchmark - how to raise clock frequency?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

currently I'm doing some benchmark evaluation (dhrystone) on my Cyclone III Evalboard "BeMicro". 

I'm using the Nios II/e for the simplest option. The benchmark tells me 0,124 MIPS/MHz, which is not far away of the value shown in the Altera Documentation "Nios II Performance Benchmarks.pdf" (0,138). 

The question now is: In the Documentation, the drive the Cyclone III up to 215 MHz - but with my current configuration, I only managed to drive it up to 130 MHz, which is very little, compared to 215. I cannot run the program at 140MHz or faster ("Leaving target processor paused"). 

I'm actually quite new to FPGA design, so could someone please give me a hint, how the FPGA can be driven faster - where the bottleneck might be in my current configuration (in SOPC designer, I'm using the NIOS, JTAG UART, onchip memory, PLL and a timer for the benchmark) ?? 

thanks in advance, 

sincerley, Harald. 

edit: please find my SOPC design overview in the attachment
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This 215MHz value looks quite optimistic. According to Altera's document it was measured on a EP3C40F324C6. I guess you have a C7 or C8 on your board, that will be a bit slower. 

Do you have timing violations when you recompile your design with a higher frequency? 

You can try and add some pipelines, it will help increase the fmax. As an example a Avalon MM pipeline bridge between the CPU instruction and data masters and the JTAG debug module usually helps.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you for the answer. 

--- Quote Start ---  

This 215MHz value looks quite optimistic. According to Altera's document it was measured on a EP3C40F324C6. I guess you have a C7 or C8 on your board, that will be a bit slower. 

--- Quote End ---