Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

Error: Peak virtual memory: 255 megabytes

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm new to FPGA. I'm doing this for a 4th year course and I'm facing a problem. 

When I compile the project, I'm getting these errors: 

Error: Design contains 10582 blocks of type logic cell. However, device contains only 10570. Error: Can't fit design in device Error: Quartus II Fitter was unsuccessful. 2 errors, 526 warnings Error: Peak virtual memory: 255 megabytes Error: Processing ended: Wed Nov 04 22:13:32 2009 Error: Elapsed time: 00:22:22 

I went through the "Resource Optimization Advisor" but no luck (I'm not sure If I'm not supposed to do this). 

Please help me with this issue. I literally spent the whole day trying to solve it. 

Regards, 

Khalid
0 Kudos
16 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your design is using too many logic resources. If you post it here, we may be able to help optimize it. 

What device family are you using? 

Jake
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Your design is using too many logic resources. If you post it here, we may be able to help optimize it. 

Jake 

--- Quote End ---  

Hello Jake, 

Thanks for your reply. It's NIOSII Stratix 1S10. 

I'm following a tutorial by Altera. http://www.altera.com/literature/tt/tt_nios2_multiprocessor_tutorial.pdf (page 33) 

Which part do you want me to copy? It's a design in SOPC Builder. It was generated there successfully, but when I compiled it in Quartus I got this error. 

Just so you know, I could compile it at the university lab but I can't using my laptop. I don't think it's a matter of a computer resources, right? 

Thanks in advance. 

Khalid
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

No it's not a computer resource issue. The design you are creating is actually too large to fit in the Stratix device.