Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

VHDL errors and question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello! I am still learning vhdl and sorry if I made a question already answered on this forum. I am using Quartus II 8.1 web edition. 

I have 2 questions: 

1- I am trying to use the operators sll, srl, ror, and, (bitwise ones like in C) and I am getting compilation errors! For example, using this: 

res <= worda sll 2; (res type is std_logic_vector as well as worda) Error (10327): VHDL error at Shifter.vhd(35): can't determine definition of operator ""sll"" -- found 0 possible definitions.With this: 

a := a and X"0F"; (a type is integer) Error (10327): VHDL error at Multiplier.vhd(35): can't determine definition of operator ""and"" -- found 0 possible definitions.I am using this libs: 

library ieee; use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; use ieee.std_logic_arith.all; use ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all;2- I would like to create a shifter, a block that can do the sll, srl, sla, sra, ror and rol. (I made some calcs to do this, because vhdl operators were giving me errors) I would like to shift it N times, so there is the word A and the N integer. I am doing it using a loop: 

-- sll while (con /= int and con < 255) loop aux(7 downto 1) := aux(6 downto 0); aux(0) := '0'; con := con + 1; end loop;This is taking like 5 minutes to compile using in my project as a block (component), is there a better way to do this? 

Thank you for attention!
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You have a couple of issues: 

1. You cant use sll on std_logic_vectors because the "sll" function does not exist for that type. You have to use it on unsigned/signed type from the numeric_std library.