Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20642 Discussions

RTL and Gate Level Sim Using ModelSim-Altera

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am just starting to learn how to use ModelSim-Altera and I am relatively new to FPGA design in general.  

The design that I am trying to simulate is intended to communicate with a TigerSharc DSP. The interface module is doing some address decoding and is writing some data to a DPRAM. I am looking at the output of the DPRAM to see that I am writing the correct dummy data.  

I have a top level bdf connecting the interface module to the DPRAM. From this I created HDL code using the "Create HDL Design File for Current File" command. Then I create an instance of this HDL code in my testbench. Using the Nativelink feature I can run the gate level simulation just fine and the output follows the results obtained from the Quartus simulation. However I receive a "vsim-3033" error when I try and run the rtl simulation. 

I'm not sure what I am missing. Is this a good approach to simulating bdf designs in ModelSim-Altera?  

I have attached screen shots of the ModelSim output and an archive of my project to help with troubleshooting. Any help is greatly appreciated.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

looks like in Settings => EDA Simulation => Test Bench name does not match your test bench's name (fields 1 and 2 should be the same). 

in your test bench file you instantiate: 

dsp1_if_block dsp1_inst(  

while it should be : 

dsp1_if dsp1_inst( 

in the above instantiation you have some extra ports that aren't actually in dsp1_if which ModelSim will complain about once you fix the other stuff.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the response thepancake.