Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Very different simulation results of a simple counter

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello 

I'm in my third year bachelor electronics and i'm making a project in vhdl. In this project there is a simple counter that should start counting at zero. The counter has 4 selection outputs for a multiplexer. When i select a cyclone 1 EP1C6Q240C6 the counter counts like it should, it starts at 0000. When i select a cyclone 3 EP3C40F324C8 it almost starts at 0001. It doesn't stay on 0000 long enough. It looks like it reacts way before it gets his clockpulse. And this is causing problems because my multiplexer doesn't output the first bit. 

How come that it works like it should with the cyclone 1 and not with the cyclone 3? They both have a clockspeed of around 402MHz. (I have to use the cyclone 3). 

In the attached pictures the counter variables are C0, C1, C2 and C4. (There are also glitches noticeable although i enabled glitch filtering) 

This is the code of my counter : 

library ieee; 

use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; 

use ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all; 

entity counter is 

port(C : in std_logic;  

Q : out std_logic_vector(3 downto 0));  

end counter; 

architecture archi of counter is  

signal tmp: std_logic_vector(3 downto 0):="0000"; 

begin  

process (C, tmp) 

begin  

if (tmp="1001") then  

tmp <= "0001";  

elsif (C'event and C='1') then  

tmp <= tmp + 1; 

end if; 

case tmp is 

when "0001" => Q <= "0000"; 

when "0010" => Q <= "0001"; 

when "0011" => Q <= "0010"; 

when "0100" => Q <= "0011"; 

when "0101" => Q <= "0100"; 

when "0110" => Q <= "0101"; 

when "0111" => Q <= "0110"; 

when "1000" => Q <= "0111"; 

when "1001" => Q <= "1000"; 

when others => Q <= "0000";  

end case; 

end process; 

end archi;