Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

VHDL Protected type help

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone,.. 

I'm new in VHDL and FPGA, sorry for my lame question. 

Here I have a project, and I thing I will need to use shared variable, here is the code I made : 

--- Quote Start ---  

library ieee; 

use ieee.std_logic_1164.all; 

-- Shared Function 

package shared_function is 

type sh_data is protected  

procedure reset; 

procedure set(signal new_data : std_logic); 

impure function get_data return std_logic; 

end protected sh_data; 

end shared_function; 

package body shared_function is 

type sh_data is protected body 

variable data : std_logic; 

procedure reset is 

begin 

data := '0'; 

end reset; 

procedure set(signal new_data : std_logic) is 

begin 

data := new_data; 

end procedure; 

impure function get_data return std_logic is 

begin 

return data; 

end function; 

end protected body sh_data; 

end shared_function; 

--- Quote End ---  

When I perform "Start Compilation" or "Analyze Current File" in Quartus II Processing menu, I got these error messages : 

--- Quote Start ---  

Error (10500): VHDL syntax error at shared_function.vhd(6) near text "protected"; expecting "(", or "access", or "array", or "file", or "range", or "record" 

Error (10500): VHDL syntax error at shared_function.vhd(10) near text "protected"; expecting ";", or an identifier ("protected" is a reserved keyword), or "package" 

Error (10523): Ignored construct shared_function at shared_function.vhd(5) due to previous errors 

Error (10500): VHDL syntax error at shared_function.vhd(14) near text "protected"; expecting "(", or "access", or "array", or "file", or "range", or "record" 

Error (10500): VHDL syntax error at shared_function.vhd(31) near text "protected"; expecting ";", or an identifier ("protected" is a reserved keyword), or "package"