Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

How to feed external clock generated by PLL into SOPC system?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear everyone, 

I am using Cyclone II ED board and Quartus II 9.0sp2. I am now building a multiple clock domain system using two FIR filters and one Dual-clock FIFO in SOPC Builder. Now I would like to provide them with two different external clock domains, which is to be generated by PLL. 

The problem is: I don’t want to use the PLL in the SOPC Builder since it requires the master Avalon MM component such as the NIOS II processor. I am thinking if I can instantiate the PLL outside the SOPC Builder and then feed its clocks into the SOPC system?  

If this is possible, can anyone please kindly tell me exact procedures to achieve this? I am actually new to SOPC Builder and not familiar with connecting the SOPC with external clock signals generated by PLL at all... 

I really appreciate your kind help! Please don’t hesitate to ask for further clarification of my problem. 

Thank you very much in advance! 

Warmest regards 

Sincerely 

grit
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

It's very easy. In SOPC interface, in the clock setting module, click "add". A new clock will appear in the clocks list, you can rename it and set the frequency. Then you can use it to clock your SOPC modules, setting it in the clock column. 

Generating your SOPC system it will appear as an input pin of the top module. 

Be aware to use your new clock to clock at least an SOPC module, or it will not appear as an input pin of your top module. 

bye
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II