Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

GIT distribution on a disk?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

By now I have a customized branch for our product. We would like to distribute on DVD the entire development environment. So given the distributed nature of GIT, is it possible to create a disk image that can 

be installed and includes all of the files necessary to build my custom 

system locally? Sorry for the dumb question, but I'm a GIT newbie..
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I created the nios2-linux tar ball using this script. 

- Hippo 

mkdir nios2-linux 

cd nios2-linux 

for i in  

binutils gcc3 linux-2.6 toolchain-build uClibc elf2flt  

insight u-boot uClinux-dist glibc 

do 

git clone -n git://sopc.et.ntust.edu.tw/git/$i.git 

done 

cd linux-2.6 

git remote add linus git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git 

git remote add linus_http http://www.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/torvalds/linux-2.6.git 

cd .. 

cd uClinux-dist 

git remote add blackfin git://sources.blackfin.uclinux.org/git/readonly-mirrors/uclinux-dist.git 

git remote add blackfin_ssh git+ssh://anonymous@firewall-sources.blackfin.uclinux.org:443/git/readonly-mirrors/uclinux-dist.git 

cd .. 

cd uClibc 

git remote add uclibc git://git.busybox.net/uClibc 

cd .. 

cd u-boot 

git remote add denx git://www.denx.de/git/u-boot.git 

cd ..
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks Hippo, that is helpful info. Currently I am having a problem regenerating the auto-gen make files in the linux-2.6 directory. I need to do this as the current paths are wrong in the makefiles (from my old machine). Do I need to follow the " BUILD directory for the kernel:" steps in the linux-2.6 readme file? Thanks, Alex

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II