Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16556 Discussions

ModelSim Random Input Stimulus?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Sorry for my lame question, I'm new to this world... 

I used to use Quartus Simulator to simulate my VHDL design, it is easy to use, but the feature is limited. So I try to use ModelSim Altera Edition, it is complex and hard to use (I think :D ).  

Unlike Quartus Simulator, I can't find how to create random value for my input signal. Please help me how to solve this problem... Any kind of help will be appreciated... 

Thanks...
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

In Modelsim, you have to write your own testbench to stimulate your design, so you will have to generate random numbers in VHDL. 

There are 2 ways of doing this: 

1. Use a linear feedback shift register. have a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/lfsr 

2. There is a random number generator in the ieee.math_real package, a procedure called "uniform". It generates Reals between 0.0 and 1.0 (inclusive I think) and you can use this to generate random integers by scaling between two limits. Here is a procedure I created in a "testbench_tools" package for generating random integers (which can easily be converted to signed/unsigned/slv/ufixed/sfixed): 

procedure rand_int( variable seed1, seed2 : inout positive; min, max : in integer; result : out integer) is variable rand : real; variable val_range : real; begin assert (max >= min) report "Rand_int: Range Error" severity Failure; uniform(seed1, seed2, rand); val_range := real(Max - Min + 1); result := integer( trunc(rand * val_range )) + min; end procedure;  

the two seed value must be variables in your testbench. min and max set the limits of the random number generation (inclusive). result is the random number
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II