Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16606 Discussions

Can i make relative delays in timequest (9.1)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

I am still fairly new to timequest sdc and tcl. 

I need to check relative delays instead of absolute delays i a design that does high speed samling of an input pin. (There is no relation between the pin and any clock in the FPGA). 

I must check that all delays starting from the same pin has very equal delays to 4 different registers, but the absolute delay are unknown and don't matter. 

Also the aboslute delay may change far too must in full corner to make any aboslute check valid. The clocks used are internally generated by PLL's and use reginal clocks to minimize skew between these four clocks.  

If it is not possible to check this directly with sdc then I think it should be possible to do it in tcl by reporting all 4 delays to tcl variables and then use tcl to calculate the difference between them and report if the difference is too big. If yo can provide any example of a tcl script doing any thing like that it would be great?
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I think you want something like: 

set_max_skew -from [get_ports {sample_port}] 1.0 

Then in your analysis be sure to run report_max_skew(Q10.0 has it run automatically).