Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16612 Discussions

Non-volatile user configurations

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Is it possible to boot user designs that do not contain a nios2 core from the flash memory? E.g. a DSPBuilder bitstream? I've had a look through the "Nios II Flash Programmer User Guide" but that seems to imply that a design with SOPC system/nios2 core is needed... 

Although I am somewhat new to the Altera tools, I have a lot of experience with the Xilinx ones. With those (Impact), it is possible to store arbitrary bitstreams into the flash boot memory... 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It seems that the automatically generated *.pof file can be used to write the bitstream to the EPC16 flash device? Unfortunately, the JTAG boundary scan fails to find such a device on my Stratix II EP2S60 DSP Development Board.. 

Quartus II programmer only locates the EPM3256A device on the CONF JTAG port and the EP2S60 on the JTAG Stratix II port.. 

Any suggestions?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

yes, you can program a system that does not include a Nios II into flash 

with the Nios II Flash Programmer, you need to have the FPGA configured with design which includes a Nios II and a flash component in order to write out to the flash, but the configuration you write out to flash doesn't have to include a Nios II 

you could also take a look at the Parallel Flash Loader (PFL): 

http://www.altera.com/literature/ug/ug_pfl.pdf
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for the information but the PFL does not seem to be supported by the MAX3000A device that is present on the board. 

I'll try out the nios2 based solution again. I guess I could use one the example designs from the 'altera9.1/nios2eds/examples' directory?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum