Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12605 Discussions

Sdram access in HDL and Nios II

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

I'm fairly new to FPGA programming. 

I would like to use the onboard sdram memory of my DE2-70 board to pass data between c++ software, running on a Nios II cpu and a verilog component. 

What would be the most ideal way to do this (performance and usability taken into account)? 

I'm already able to include a sdram controller using the SOPC builder and accessing it in C++ by directly writing to the sdram memory address I found in the SOPC builder. 

What I don't see is how I can access this data from a custom verilog component (in this case for writing an array of pixels to an electronic sign. 

Any help is much appreciated. 

Thanks
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You need to add an Avalon MM master interface to your custom component.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for your reply. 

In that case, would I need to change the way I access the sdram memory in c++. Or can I just keep directly addressing the base pointer? 

And can I read/write to the sdram memory from both locations (nios and custom ip core) without worrying about collisions or data corruption during simultaneous operations? 

Thanks
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You don't have to worry about simultaneous accesses but you do have to worry about cache coherency and data hazards. If your hardware needs to access blocks of memory at a time then I recommend using a DMA engine to move the data to/from memory and your accelerator so that you don't have to implement it yourself. 

More details about what you are attempting to do in hardware will probably result in a less generic answer.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II