Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16545 Discussions

Need help with Quartus + Altera-ModelSim

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm new to Quartus and Altera-ModelSim. I'm having problems getting the complete system working. 

I can compile in Quartus but I can't simulate the .vho file in ModelSim. I can simulate a VHDL file in ModelSim that was NOT compiled in Quartus. 

Could I get a simple VHDL design file and a Testbench file that is known to work with this system. It could be as simple as an and-gate function.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

--- Quote Start ---  

I can compile in Quartus but I can't simulate the .vho file in ModelSim 

--- Quote End ---  

A successful compilation in Quartus is a great thing for someone new to Quartus. (and even robust designers).  

to simulate .vho file, You must compiile it in ModelSim, I think, and simulate with menu Simulate...>Start Simulation...> Resolution = "ps". 

.vho are VHDL file generated by Quartus with all delays which make simulation very long (huge calculation) and it usually doesn't help. 

--- Quote Start ---  

I can simulate a VHDL file in ModelSim that was NOT compiled in Quartus./QUOTE] 

Quartus only compiles "synthetisable" design. "after" clauses are ignored... Are you new to VHDL ? 

In my opinion, you will find some great "getting started" and tutorial guides, examples over the web. Go on www.altera.com/literatures. 

This is for simulation only. 

Later,  

For a design to be implemanted, you have to assign pins of the FPGA (or CPLD) and others thing. 

I advice you to use "Inputs tri-stated" for pins that do not drive logic (project settings). 

Good luck.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear Marlboro, 

In order to use VHO file in Modelsim, you need to do the follwoing: