Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

Compilation Error

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I'm new with quartus 2 and Verilog and I was following a tutorial (very very easy) that I find with my board... (cyclone II family device) 

With quartus 2 web edition version 7.2 everything was ok, but now with version 10.1 there are many problems... 

when i start compilation, it stops at 50% with this errors 

Error: Selected feature of TimeQuest Timing Analyzer is not available with your current license, or license does not exist 

Error: Current module quartus_asm ended unexpectedly 

I've not set anything in the TimeQuest Timing Analyzer ... 

how can i solve that?
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I suspect that you license doe not allow you to run the subscription edition Quartus II 10.1 version. If you open the license file, there should be a feature line something like: 

FEATURE quartus alterad 2010.06 permanent .... 

This is the license feature for Quartus II software. The date field, in this case 2010.06 (June 2010), indicates the date in which you can no longer get updates. So, for example, here it indicates that you can get updates to the software up to June 2010, and subscription release of software after this can not be run, without getting an updated license.  

10.1 was release this month. 

You mentioned web edition for the Quatus II 7.1, but I suspect you installed the subscription edition.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for your answer. 

Uhm...The desktop icon's name is : " Quartus II 10.1 Web Edition (32-Bit)" 

and if I go to 

tools-->license setup in "license type" i got "web edition"... 

Someone has other ideas on how to solve the problem?
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II