Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20688 Discussions

VHDL robot design not working

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everybody I'm new in VHDL and I'm doing a project with DE2 board 

In the project I need to build a robot. 

My first step was to design a ASM and from that to take out the FSM which i did (hopefully I did it good enough) 

The second step is to check one of my ASM and I choose my engine control ASM 

I wrote a program in VHDL using quartus and burn it into my board  

Instead of using the motors from the beginnig the idea was to used the board's led using a PWM generator that will create a "running led" effect for a curtain direction and in change it in a push of a button 

but it didn't work. 

Can anybody tell me what I did wrong? 

I think it's in the pin assignment
0 Kudos
34 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The code: 

library IEEE; 

use IEEE.std_logic_1164.all; 

use ieee.std_logic_arith.all; 

use ieee.std_logic_unsigned.all; 

Entity Pwm is 

Port ( Rst : In std_logic; 

Clk : In std_logic; 

s : In std_logic; 

Enable : in std_logic; 

Led : buffer std_logic_vector (7 downto 0); 

Pwm : Out std_logic ); 

attribute altera_chip_pin_lc : string; 

attribute altera_chip_pin_lc of clk : signal is "@N2"; 

attribute altera_chip_pin_lc of rst : signal is "@G26"; 

attribute altera_chip_pin_lc of Led : signal is "@AE23, @AF23, @AB21, @AC22, @AD22, @AD23, @AD21"; 

attribute altera_chip_pin_lc of s : signal is "@N25"; 

attribute altera_chip_pin_lc of Enable : signal is "@N26"; 

end entity Pwm; 

Architecture arc_Pwm of Pwm is 

signal Counter : std_logic_vector (16 downto 0); 

signal DC : std_logic_vector (16 downto 0); 

begin 

PwmReg: process (Clk,Rst,s) 

begin 

if (Rst='1') then 

Counter <= (others=>'0'); 

Pwm <= '0'; 

Led <= (others=>'0'); 

DC <= conv_std_logic_vector(32678,17); --duty cycle 50% 

elsif rising_edge(Clk) then 

if (Enable='1') then