Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16557 Discussions

[VHDL] Problem with 'event attribute on std_logic_vector signal

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, i'm a newbie in vhdl coding and i'm trying to execute a vhdl code written by another person in quartus 2. 

He has written it using Aldec Active HDL 8.2.This code in Active HDL compiles but not in Quartus 2. 

Below I post the relevant code 

entity project is port( IR:in std_logic_vector(7 downto 0); ... end project; architecture arch of project is ... control_logic_req: process (IR, other parameters) if (IR 'event) then --error here ...  

When i compile the code, i have an error on the row highlighted (there's also the ' but it doesn't appear in php window) and it's this one: 

error (10302): vhdl attribute error at project.vhd(158): attribute "event" that is used for multiple bits is not synthesizable 

Now i wonder 

1) why it compiles in Active HDL and not in Quartus 2 with the same file .vhd? Does it need some additive library? 

2) in quartus 2 how can i fix this problem? 

Thanks everybody for your advices.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Quartus is synthesis tool and only supports the synthesis subset of vhdl. 

In this subset an edge event is translated to clocked flipflop. You can only have one clock per flip. So the clock signal must be one bit. 

If Aldec compiles it then you ned to know what is the outcome of compilation, it could be just simulation toolset. 

Anyway I advise you to write your own code. The worst thing is wasting time to port mystery codes across tools.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

the problem is that  

if IR'event then