Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Multiple NiosII System

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everybody! 

It's my first post on this forum so a quick presentation to start : 

I'm a french student in the engineering school Polytech'Paris UPMC and I'm actually working on FPGA for a telepresence robot project. 

The robot we are working on is a telepresence robot which will be controled by internet. This robot must enable the user to interact with the robot environment using bidirectional sound and video transmission between the robot and a computer. The robot is connected to the Internet using an Ethernet connection to a Wifi-Ethernet bridge. 

I'm working on a NiosII system running uCLinux and we are very satisfied by this solution which works perfectly for the moment. The problem is that we need a more powerful system to achieve some video compression for example, and a single NiosII processor running uCLinux will not be able to provide us the computation power we need for that. 

That's why I am thinking to the possibility of using a multi core system. My idea is to use only one NiosII running uCLinux, and an other to run a C program compiled with the Nios IDE just to perform some video compression and to stock the data in a shared memory between the two processor. 

I think that it is possible, and because we are working on DE2-70 board, we have enough memory to do it. It is possible to associate each processor with a JTAG UART Ip and to program them separately, but we will not be able to use this solution because we need the board to boot in autonomy. 

So after this long (long) introduction, here is my question.