Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16603 Discussions

QSYS fails to generate SS_n export correctly for SPI interface?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have been tearing my hair out over this and have concluded that the SOPC generation of an SPI peripheral is broken somehow in QSYS (yet worked fine with SOPC Builder). 

I have an SPI master in my SOPC design and specify the number of slaves to be 3. 

The SOPC module generated by QSYS declares the SS_n signal as: 

output wire spi_0_SS_n 

yet it connects it to an SPI instance where .SS_n is declared as 

output [2:0] SS_n 

so only a single one of my chip-selects ever gets asserted and thus I can only communicate with one of the SPI devices now instead of all three. 

Anyone else seen this? Any work-around suggestions? 

I have tried removing the SPI device and re-adding it in QSYS but (predictably) it is consistently wrong. 

Thanks, 

-dave
0 Kudos
14 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I just tried it out and see the same thing. I doubt you can easily work around this so assuming you are not generating your system often then I would hack the output HDL file to make the exported ss_n signal wider. I'm filling a bug for this one but if you want to explore other workarounds you can file a service request here: http://www.altera.com/mysupport 

If you do manage to find a cleaner workaround please post it on the wiki so that others can benefit as well: http://www.alterawiki.com/wiki/new_qsys_issues
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

... hack the output HDL file to make the exported ss_n signal wider. 

--- Quote End ---