Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20705 Discussions

Using the global clock network in MAXII device

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have a clock signal that I need distributed to my components in a design. This is my first time using a MAXII, so I'm not very sure of myself here - I've made a simple clock signal that takes the on-board developer and divides by two, but I'm aware that clock delay may become a problem if I don't distribute the signal appropriately. 

My clock divider code (currently) 

LIBRARY ieee; USE ieee.std_logic_1164.ALL; entity CLOCK_DIVIDER is port( reset : in std_logic; clk : in std_logic; half_clk : out std_logic ); end CLOCK_DIVIDER; architecture CLOCK_DIVIDER of CLOCK_DIVIDER is signal tick : std_logic; begin process(clk, reset) begin if reset = '1' then tick <= '0'; elsif clk = '1' and clk'EVENT then if tick = '0' then tick <= '1'; elsif tick = '1' then tick <= '0'; end if; end if; end process; process(tick) begin half_clk <= tick; end process end CLOCK_DIVIDER;  

clk comes from a pin with a signal from an external oscillator (PIN_H5). half_clk is routed to all my components but I'm not sure if it's using one of the four global clock networks that my data sheet tells me I have available - how do I make sure it uses a global net?
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

sorry but i don't have a answer of your problem but i have a question. how you interface your MaxII with the memory which is store the configuration of FPGA ?? 

thanks for your help.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I use a USB Blaster cable.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

but I'm aware that clock delay may become a problem if I don't distribute the signal appropriately. 

--- Quote End ---