Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

AHDL, VHDL or Verilog?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone,  

I am new with FPGA. 

Now I would like to learn FPGA but confused with AHDL, VHDL and Verilog. 

Could anyone describe what are the difference between them? 

What is your suggestion for me who want to start with FPGA?  

I find out that Verilog is a new one! 

Your replies are fully appreciated!
0 Kudos
25 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

AHDL is Altera HDL. Altera is a profit making company that keeps us going as well and runs this forum. They are very good people, believe me except for some of their documentations. 

Verilog and vhdl are standardised by IEEE I believe. VHDL is commonly used in Europe but Americans like Verilog more just to be different. So pick your own.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

AHDL is Altera's proprietary language. I would not bother to learn it. 

VHDL and Verilog are the primary HDL languages. Learn a little bit about both and use the one you are most comfortable with. 

A lot of the newer Altera IP and verification IP is being delivered in SystemVerilog format (the newer-better-Verilog). 

I primarily develop with VHDL, but for designs that use Qsys and SOPC Builder I have been using SystemVerilog (to save fighting too much with the Altera Verification IP suite). 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Just to give you the flavour: 

VHDL is very tough on type and syntax. Hardly ever I wrote a program(12 years now) without failing first to many syntax errors. Verilog is more friendly, you can write anything and it is always happy.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

AHDL is proprietory and is not supported by anything other than quartus, so no simulation is possible.