Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)

modlesim 6.6d

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i am new to modlesim, i downloaded the latest version, i hope if someone tells me how to simulate vhdl program with modlesim in simple way

0 Kudos
19 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Use these commands in the command window, or in a .do file: 

vcom <my_vhdl_file> 

vsim <my_entity> 

run 1ms
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

thanks for the reply,  

how can i enter some vlaues to my inputs to see the repose of the outputs in modlesim
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You need to write a testbench in HDL.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

is there any way we can force the inputs to be 1 or 0 and see the output, if not how to write testbench in HDL

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

you can only do inputs via a testbench. 

A testbench is just an HDL file, like any other, that instantiates your unit under test.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

how to write this HDL file, is it done by the modlesim, or i have to create it, is there any information may help me in this

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Its just a text file. What language is your design in?

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

if you mean the vhd file that i am simulating, it is already created and i am simulating it , or u mean different file beside the VHDL code program with extension vhd

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

the testbench is a completly separate VHDL file from your design - used only for the purpose of testing. Because it will not get synthesised, you can do all sorts of things you would otherwise not be allowed to do. 

For example, to generate a clock, you can do this: 

--100 MHz clock 

signal clk : std_logic := '1'; 

clk <= not clk after 5 ns;