Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20704 Discussions

how to set up table of data to send out serially???

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm not a complete newb to Altera/programmable logic, but am by no means an expert... I'm looking for suggestions on how to set up a large table of 'mostly' fixed data in an FPGA, so that I can read from the table and send it out serially. The serial data will be output constantly, simply looping through the table of data. I have the additional complexity of needing to implement up/down counters in a couple table locations (i.e. in a couple locations of the table, I would like to increment/decrement the value each time the entier table is read). 

I would like to send out a 'table' of 4,000 8-bit data elements. I would like to generate the data elements in another program (i.e. Excel or similar) and import to my Altera design. I'm mainly stuck on how to set up the table of data, how to then read from it, and how to implement a counter for a couple of the elements (or read from a counter instead of the table for a couple elements)? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I'm not a complete newb to Altera/programmable logic, but am by no means an expert... I'm looking for suggestions on how to set up a large table of 'mostly' fixed data in an FPGA, so that I can read from the table and send it out serially. The serial data will be output constantly, simply looping through the table of data. I have the additional complexity of needing to implement up/down counters in a couple table locations (i.e. in a couple locations of the table, I would like to increment/decrement the value each time the entier table is read).