Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20644 Discussions

Safety in case of failure

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I’m a safety engineer. 

I have a particular question. 

If the FPGA lost its power supply, all outputs are in low state “0”. 

But, for FPGA failure (by overheating, electrostatic discharge or other causes) 

I would like to know if the outputs can be in the indeterminate state or in low « 0 » state. 

(When the failure occurs, is this possible to “freeze” the FPGA? Is it possible to have some outputs at "high level “ ?)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

If the FPGA lost its power supply, all outputs are in low state “0”. 

--- Quote End ---  

FPGAs have more than one power supply; a core supply, and multiple I/O supplies. They have a power-on-reset (POR) circuit that monitors the I/O supplies. During the power-up and configuration sequence, the POR circuit keeps an external status signal (nSTATUS) asserted low, and the I/O pins are tri-stated. Some of the devices have an IO_PULLUP control pin which can be used to enable weak pull-ups. After the device is configured, the pin state is either the user-programmed function, or the unused pin function (which can be set to input, input with weak pull-up, output driving high/low). 

Depending on the power-supply that fails, and the configuration of those control pins, you could have a situation where the POR circuit either tri-states or enables the weak pull-ups. However, if the I/O supply fails, then any pull-ups on pins powered from that I/O supply will be effectively tri-stated. 

--- Quote Start ---  

But, for FPGA failure (by overheating, electrostatic discharge or other causes) I would like to know if the outputs can be in the indeterminate state or in low « 0 » state. 

--- Quote End ---  

There is no way you can guarantee the state of pins under these circumstances. 

--- Quote Start ---