FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6343 Discussions

help on Design guidelines for data transfer from DE2-115 to PC

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone, 

I am a beginner in the field of FPGA and I am currently working my way through a lot of information.  

As part of project, I need to transfer data from a FPGA board DE2-115 to a PC. More precisely, we already have an independent verilog module that works and produces data bits and we would like to transmit these bits as fast as possible to a PC, where a server application write the data in a text file and save it. 

I know that there are multiple options to handle the transmission of data using for instance Triple Speed Ethernet IP-cores in conjunction with Nios2 some people seems to make TSE work without using an RTOS. I was also wondering if it was possible to realize my project without using a NioS and just IP-cores. 

I would like to have the simplest design that guarantees the best level of performance. But at this point I do not really know which direction I should take. 

Thank you for your help and comments!
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I am a beginner in the field of FPGA and I am currently working my way through a lot of information.  

--- Quote End ---  

You've come to the right place then. There are lots of people who will help you on this forum. 

--- Quote Start ---  

As part of project, I need to transfer data from a FPGA board DE2-115 to a PC. More precisely, we already have an independent verilog module that works and produces data bits and we would like to transmit these bits as fast as possible to a PC, where a server application write the data in a text file and save it. 

--- Quote End ---  

Are these bits always produced, or can you deal with data in blocks?