Intel® Quartus® Prime Software
Intel® Quartus® Prime Design Software, Design Entry, Synthesis, Simulation, Verification, Timing Analysis, System Design (Platform Designer, formerly Qsys)
16596 Discussions

Newbie vs VHDL: season 01 episode 01

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all 

Since I am new to VHDL I have some questions (that probably you will find trivial): 

1. Is good practice to define a behavioural architecture with one single process inside or it is better to have several process? (assumed that for different signals - if correlated - they have to stay in the same process) 

2. If I have to implement a high order counter let's say a 24-bit counter it is better to have 2 12 bit counter or FPGAs can handle 24bit with the same effort of a 12 bit, for example: 

-- 2 12 bit counter 

BEGIN 

IF rising_edge(clk_in) THEN -- clk_in is the clock signal input 

count1 <= count1 + '1'; -- 12 bit counter 

IF count1 = cnst THEN adder <= '1'; -- cnst = "111111111111" 

ELSE adder <= '0'; 

END IF; 

count2 <= count2 + adder; -- 12 bit counter 

END IF; 

END PROCESS; 

-- 24 bit counter 

BEGIN 

IF rising_edge(clk_in) THEN 

count1 <= count1 + '1'; -- 24 bit counter 

END IF; 

END PROCESS; 

3. When defining entities and/or signals we have to iniatalize them, in which way is more efficient (if there are any differences): 

SIGNAL count1 : STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (11 downto 0) := "000000000000"; 

SIGNAL count2 : STD_LOGIC_VECTOR (11 downto 0) := X"0000";  

4. Is good practice to use as much as possible only STD_LOGIC types? Is this the best option for efficiency and speed? 

Thank you all :)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II