Programmable Devices
CPLDs, FPGAs, SoC FPGAs, Configuration, and Transceivers
20638 Discussions

DE2-70 SRAM timing question

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

First off, I'm fairly new to FPGA programming, so I apologise in advance for any obvious questions, and thank you for your patience. 

So I'm currently trying to design a processor that makes extensive use of a cache that interfaces with some form of main memory, my choice for this memory is the SSRAM on the perscribed DE2-70 board via their pins.  

I'm aware that interfacing with main memory can result in significant delay, and I was wondering if there's anyway to generate a flag that gets set when the write/read operation finishes? 

Or is there a set read delay and write delay associated with the chip, in which case I can just stall until that specific number of cycles have passed? 

I've been looking for a while, but I couldn't find any information pertaining to this problem. 

Thanks
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What entity is going to look at the flag you're intending to raise? A Nios processor? Or some other internal logic? 

Accessing external SSRAM won't incur any 'significant' delay. Unless you're hoping to operate your logic/Nios at a very high clock frequency (which will be tricky with Cyclone II), the SSRAM on that board will operate at the same frequency as your logic. SSRAMs offer single (or double) clock cycle accesses. So any flag you raise is only going to be high for 1 or 2 clock cycles. I accept burst accesses are slightly longer, but arguably still not significant. 

However, if you're using Nios, it will handle these accesses without the need for a flag. If you're writing your own logic then you will design your SSRAM controller in such a way that the logic always knows where in the SSRAM access cycle it is, and when it's finished. 

Cheers, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---